The Categories

Our goal has been to cover the breadth and depth of sustainable travel and tourism, and to reflect the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), around a net positive framework of People, Planet, Place, Prosperity and Partnerships.

A total 21 categories were mapped by World Sustainable Travel & Hospitality Awards and World Sustainable Hospitality Alliance, with the WSTHA Advisory Board helping to steer the process.

The categories range from conservation, energy efficiency and community engagement to education and leaders of tomorrow.

The Entry Criteria

The assessment criteria was as follows:

  • Quantitative and qualitative data
  • Internationally recognised standards, directives and best practice.
  • Scalability and replicability
  • Partnership and collaboration
  • Relative impact
  • Bringing the story to life

Following approval of categories by the Advisory Board, the 2024 entry process was opened on 18 March. Organisations and individuals working in global travel and hospitality were invited to apply during the 11-week window. Entry was free of charge.

The entry process featured a series of questions to ascertain the credentials of each applicant.

The Nomination

After the close of entries, all applications were reviewed, analysed and scored by Students in Sustainable Business from Nova School of Business and Economics, Lisbon. Applicants that met the qualifying benchmark were then shortlisted for final due diligence and review by the Advisory Board.

The Voting

The final shortlist of nominations are now listed and entered in the global voting process. The recipient of the most votes will be declared the winner of their respective Award.


Our Other Awards